From the Brain of Matty

marriedness (09.10.04 4:17 pm)

I went and saw Alien Vs. Predator the other night. [Man was that an atypical scifi spinoff action movie or what? I thought it was pretty cool.] The thing is, I went by myself. Shell didn't feel like going, but she gave me some money and sent me off on my own. Now, I used to go to the movies by myself once or twice every weekend (back in the olden days, around '00, when I had money) and I never had a problem with it, but I've been in an almost symbiotic relationship with Shell for three years [and four days, if memory serves..] now, and it just feels strange doing anything without her. At least, when she's not too busy with work or uni.

Similarly, last week she was quite sick, and the fan/air-con in the bedroom was giving her muscular spasms or something and making her throw up (I have no idea, it all sounds very complex to me). So basically she ended up sleeping on the sofa bed in the spare room. And it was so weird going to sleep in the queen-sized bed knowing that she's in the very next room. Sure, if she was out of town or something it wouldn't be so weird, but not having her to cuddle when she's still in the same house is so weird. I don't like it.

So yes, I am married, in every sense of the word, to my Shelly.

It's not so bad.

I'm not dead.
Matty


LATE BREAKING NEWS FLASH
No wonder I've been so miserable, snotty and irritable lately. There's a storm! The thunder is rolling in the near distance, a couple of fat droplets fell on the lawn, and the air has suddenly dropped about 5 degrees. It's probably been building up for days. I'm too attuned to the weather.

I love storms. I hope this one gets us.

Matty