From the Brain of Matty

strong genes (03.12.04 10:24 am)

If you are reading this, the new database servers are extra-loaded and you'll have to wait a minute and try again.

Well, it'd been a while. And he was right, it was less than 10 minutes before it let me in. And I'm here now.

We picked up the car, and it goes just fine. He even fixed the brake light. The one thing I forgot to list in my previous message was that the hazard lights don't blink, and I'd been using them as running lights wihle driving at night (unless I needed to indicate a turn). They're still not fixed, but they've not worked since I've been back from the US.

Shell had her interview, and has been mopey and depressed about it because the thinks she stuffed it up majorly by not emphasising her role in the exhibition enough, so we're at her parents' place so she can write up a "thank you" letter, listing some of the things she forgot to say at the interview. And we're going to hand-deliver it later this arve because there's no same-day postal service in Townsville and he has to get it before Monday.

My last exam was murder. I answered enough questions to maybe scrape a pass - if I got them all 100% correct [which I didn't]. It was the first exam I remember having at uni that I was writing right up until the lady says "put your pens down". Ten more minutes would have been a massive boon. Oh well. I hope the bell curve gets shifted my way.

Lovely Princess Jessi left me a note the other day, I quote: Ack! You look like you! Exactly like you. Scary.

Ack! Why Ack!? I'm not that ugly, am I? Especially not when I was 2 years old. And yes, I look exactly like me. There's a reason for that. I'm sure everyone can work it out. I'm assuming what she meant was that I look now just like I did then. I have photos all throughout my life, and you always know when it's me in the pic. Even when I had my prickle-cut and rat's tail (back in about '88 - age eight). I have to get my hands on some of the family photos of my father and of his father (who I never met) at about my age, because we all look almost the same. I have strong genes. I always know exactly who I am. (Even if they make me like my father.)

Here's the photo again if you missed it:


Me (2) and my cousin Nick (0)

I'm not dead.
Matty /<

Oh wait, I remember what else I was going to write. Last night Shell & I went and saw Team America: World Police. It was decent. Different enough from South Park to still be funny, and fresh. And the marionettes are great. I don't know what finally happened with the American release, but we got to see the full, explicit sex scene. It was ... subtle. But still quite amusing.

Okay I'm off now. Ciao tutti!
Matty /< (still)