From the Brain of Matty

stinky water (11.02.05 9:26 am)

Today the billboard-thermometer thing said: 9:01   38�C

Thank gods the humidity is way down. Yesterday it was up around 85% at dawn. But this morning was the first morning since we've been at the new place that I didn't wake in a pool of sweat (or at least feeling all sticky and yeck). And even better, last night we went to bed around 9pm (got to sleep around 9:30, because Shell had to go get a drink and stuff, and it felt weird going to bed so early.) So I got nearly 10 hours sleep! Woohoo!

Earlier on, we went for a bit of a bike ride - since I didn't ride to uni yesterday - part way along the path I follow to get here. Except it was night-time and pitch black. [I saw two fireflies, one nearly hit my face.] We went a little way along, then turned off and rode around the main streets for a bit.

On Tuesday, when I actually did ride to uni, I discovered that the path I follow near our place (to avoid the little road bridge without a bike lane) is subject to extremely high tides - and I'm guessing we're having a king tide at the moment, because half way across the causeway I was sloughing through 15cm of fetid water flowing upstream.


It's now 10:10am. If you note the delay between the time at the top of this entry and now, it's because our damn alarmed door keeps beeping. Our solution to this is to tape a magnet to the electronic sensor. Very technomological. The problem is, people keep nicking our magnets (we suspect the cleaners). So Matt & I have just spent half an hour trying to rip apart a defunct hard drive to get its supermagnet. And we've finally succeeded! Joy! Now we just need some superglue, and we're set.


Back to the story. Where was I? Oh yes, the tepid, fetid water. Yes, we've been having some decent tides. On Wednesday, on my way to uni after dropping Shell at work, I passed over the recently dug drainage channels in the city, and the new one was overflowing its banks and the gardens were being flooded with lovely stinky brown water, and the floodpan running through the old part of town was totally awash. It was quite groovy.

Can't think of what else has happened this week. Still waiting for the computer parts to arrive. I'm going out to Simon's on the weekend for a big game-up session. That should be pretty groovy. Would be groovier if the damn computer was here. If not, I know I can always borrow a spare from someone.

Okay, I better look like I'm doing some work. Ciao tutti!
Matty /< PreviousRandomAboutNext