From the Brain of Matty

Fidget (05.08.06 9:03 pm)

Here's the email I just sent out to everyone:

Hi everyone,

What a long day. I have a tired arm and a very sore back. I went in to hospital this morning at 8am, and Shell and I went upstairs to the birth suite straight away. They did a bit of a check, and decided around 9am that it was okay to break her waters. So they did.

Then they moved us into the actual birth suite, and onto the tachocardiogram machine thing (to monitor Fidget's heart rate and Shell's contractions). The contractions slowly built up, and Shell hopped off the bed and onto the big ball thing and I rubbed her back. Then around 12ish I was sent home to have some lunch.

When I got back things were still toddling along, Shell was reading magazines and watching the TCG, but had started to actually feel her contractions quite painfully. They steadily got more and more pronounced, so she went into the bathroom. Then Mum and Troy turned up in the waiting room (maybe around 1-ish?) so I went and had a very brief chat with them, and when I came back Shell had been talking with the midwife, then had a bout of really bad contractions, just sat on the bed, and immediately needed to push. So the midwife called in help, pulled off Shell's pants, etc. etc. And at 2:51pm we were joined by Bridget Clare Kerwin.

For people who want stats:
 Name: Bridget Clare Kerwin
 Sex:  F
 DOB.: 5-Aug-2006
 Time: 14:51
 Weight: 3580g (7lb 14oz)
 Length: 51.5cm
 Head: 36cm

Immediately after birth she suckled for quite a while, then I nursed her while Shell had a rest and got stitched up and all that yuck (for maybe 2 hours). Then I phoned Shell's mother, who phoned my Mum, and both of them phoned people they knew, and so on. Then they (Shell's Mum, my Mum and Troy) came for a visit back down in the maternity ward, until 8pm when everyone was kicked out.

The last I saw, Bridget (who I shall still call Fidget for quite a while) was settling down to her second feed, and Shell was trying to relax.

Some photos are attached.

Cheers,
Matty


nummy.jpg


mummy.jpg

bridget.jpg

PS. - don't tell Shell I sent the photo of her, she'll think she looks dopey in it.

Couldn't be bothered using the icon.

Ciao tutti!
Daddy /<