From the Brain of Matty

Discontent drives the pen (26.01.07 8:00 am)

Kestra (diary locked) left me a note starting with a cool quote which I'm going to steal: "Discontent drives the pen."

Much more graceful than mine: "Sh*t makes you write."

So.. what discontent has happened lately that I can write about..? Not much, really. Since going gold and trying to find inspiration to write masses of entertaining drudgery for my readers I've in fact managed to write a whole lot about not knowing what to write. And a bit on not sleeping much. Compared to the discontent I used to vent about here, the past few days are just about the best of my life. Damnit.

Why, last night we (Shell, Bridget, and I) all managed to sleep right through!

So I'll just write .. stuff.

Today is Australia Day. If you know what July 4th is, you should make an effort to memorise January 26 - just for interest's sake if nothing else. Although April 25 is probably more significant and memorable - that one's about war, not about a bunch of English nobs and Irish prisoners in a boat. And it's one Australians care much more about. Anyway, back to my point: today is Australia Day, which is a public holiday. All banks, post offices, and most businesses are closed. This arvo there's some concert thing being held at the Entertainment Centre, and Shell and I are both ushering. I doubt they'll pay us time-and-a-half, or whatever you get for working on a public holiday. It also means that I can't post my spare Burning Crusade Collector's Edition to Glen until Monday. I stupidly agreed to sell it to him for what I payed for it, just before I realised that with the new developments I could probably have flogged it off on eBay for double it (negating the cost of *both* copies I bought). Oh well, stupid me.

Last night I made up an eating plan for myself. It's not nutritionally balanced or scientifically analysed or anything. I just took the sort of stuff I normally eat, worked out what I reckon is a decent balance, and wrote it down. I think it'll probably work better than other plans because it's just encodified what I already do, with some subtle changes. And since it's written down it'll be easier to adhere to. And then, hopefully, it'll become habit. I also put on it that I need to go for at least 15 minutes on the bike every weekday, and 30 mins walking every other day. Just to get my activity levels back up to 'something.' My ultimate goal is to get this damned job at the uni so I can ride to work every day.

So this morning I'm going to get my bike out of the shed and check that it still works.

It takes so long to type one-handed (Bridget's asleep in my lap) I've forgotten what, if anything, else I was going to write.

Be well.