From the Brain of Matty

finally (21.02.07 8:17 pm)

Life is as it ought to be. Work is fine. Shell seems happier. Bridget is blooming. We're still broke, but I'm on a wage now, so we have an idea of what to expect. In the words of Golli, "It's all good."

About work. I think I can blog this without revealing too many trade secrets, or breaking my non-disclosure agreement. I've written ... a calculator.

Not a real calculator. It's a crap one. Using Tomcat/Apache and Java servlets. If you don't know what they are, don't worry. They're really not important. All that matters is I can go to a webpage on my workstation, type in numbers, click the + button, and they add together.

Woohoo!

I must say, though, it's been informative. It's amazing how much my mindset is still bent into the shape of C, even with the tonnes of PHP I've been writing in the past few years.

I must also say it's very nice being able to use things I typically detest (like Tomcat and NetBeans) and not have to worry about installing, configuring or maintaining them. Someone else does all the horrible work! All I do is go in, log on, and click the buttons! I love it!

The next person to ask me help troubleshoot a computer problem will get a response along the lines of: "Why not ask a taxi driver to help repair your car transmission?" No more mechanics for me! Just good old fashioned driving! Yay! =D

Shell is back at the Gold Shop casually, which is good. It gets her out and she feels like she's achieving something again. She's also enrolled at TAFE, to do.. er.. I forget what, she told me so many things. I think it's small business management. Something businessy anyway. So that'll be good for her. And Bridget's in childcare for a few hours, four days a week. So she's learning that Mummy and Daddy aren't the be-all and end-all, and even when they go away they come back, and it's fun to play with other people your own age. It should be good for all of us.

Now I'm going to go be not on a computer. You better be having a good time, too, dear reader.

Or else.

. . .

Chao!