From the Brain of Matty

empathetic (13-Apr-04 11:25 pm)

I think I'm a very empathetic person. Emotionally, at least. It's very rare that I'm around someone and kind of close to them and not start sharing in their feelings. Although I do tend to be somewhat pessimistic, it seems, so I usually seem to find the lowest point in the emotion to share. Maybe that's why I like to spend so much time totally isolated from everyone; so I can get away from their moods. But of course I always long for and crave human contact when I'm on my own.

The internet is cool like that. The best way to not communicate emotions & feelings is to type in bland, plain text. It's so easy to lie when you're looking someone straight in the monitor. Meh, I dunno. In text, you can read whatever you want into it.

I don't know that I'm more, like, receptive to other peoples' moods and feelings, I wouldn't presume I'm the emotional equivalent of a deep space radio telescope, say. But I do get the feeling I'm affected a lot more than most people by what I pick up. Maybe I am mildly autistic, like Mum thinks. Maybe I don't have good screens to protect me from external influences, the way most people do. I dunno.

But yeah, there you go. Be happy at me, and I'll be happy at you. Almost guaranteed.

m�tT��/<