From the Brain of Matty

Darryl (19.05.04 8:54 pm)

If memory serves, and I'm not mistaken, it's almost four years to the hour that I got the phone call telling me Darryl had killed himself. God, four years. It seems like forever. I've lived half my life - and grown up almost completely - in that time. I went to America. Twice. I lived out a few dodgy relationships, and even dodgier experiences. I met Ben. I met Shell. I got engaged. Everything has happened, and Darryl hasn't been here for any of it. How strange. I can barely even remember the state of the world (as it mattered to us) when he was still alive. He never got to listen to Pearl Jam's best album yet (Riot Act) even though he loved Pearl Jam. We never got around to writing a real song together, or making an album. Bloody hell, I'm older now than he was then. I guess I finally beat him, in the end. It always seemed like.. not a competition between us, but.. something just like one. We liked the same music, doing the same things, we even liked (approximately) the same girls. But I won. I always won. AC beats JC every time, I guess. Yin & Yang. Night always follows day.

Ah well. I never quite forgot about you Darryl, even though I didn't always remember.

I'm not dead.
m�tT��/<