From the Brain of Matty

why? (08.06.04 7:41 pm)

We have one bedroom, two rooms with TVs, and many room with light sufficient for painting fingernails, so why, when I want to go to bed, do I have to wait for you to stop watching TV and painting your nails?
Why, when you feel fat, do I have to go on a diet?
Why is it my fault when a person with whom I work - but who you added to the invitations list - goes overseas without giving us an RSVP first?
Why is it the end of the world if I forget to brush my teeth one night before going to bed?
Why, when I finally get a chance to sleep, do you wake me up to tell me something that a note will convey just as easily? Or make me get up to do some menial task that could wait until later?
Why, when you don't have any more stress with work or uni, do you find new things to get stressed about?
And why, when you get stressed, do I feel like I get in trouble for every little thing - even those that don't exist?
Why, when I don't laugh at a joke that you find funny, but I don't, do you get upset?
Why do you not seem to realise sometimes that when I say "I'm hungry", it's because I'm hungry? Or when I say "I'm tired", it's because I'm tired? Or when I say "I want to go home", it's because I want to go home?
Why, when I'm in a bad mood, do you pick? And pick, and pick?
And why, if I finally do lose my temper, are you shocked and scared?

And why, oh why, do you want to be married to someone like me?