From the Brain of Matty

evil week (03.09.04 8:40 am)

If I was going to be truly nice, I wouldn't make an entry at all. Instead I'm going to be sort of nice, but make an entry anyway.

Yes, you guessed it. The only time saying nothing is nicer than anything at all is when you've got nothing nice to say. I'm having a pretty crappy time of it. Although Shell is having a pretty crappy time too, so I can't blame her for laying some of it on me. I'm sure I've probably layed some of mine on her. That's what being married is about, no? Well, as long as we can lay our happinesses on each other when we get them, too.

We need to get our speedometer recalibrated. (Speedometer is such a dodgy word.. I wish I'd been the one to come up with it) Yesterday I got booked for going 73 in a 60 zone. Now, I know I was going over 60, but never once did the needle cross the 70 mark. So if it can be out by at least 4km/h at around 70, what's the point of even using it? When the officer asked if I had any questions, I asked him - for my own information - what the tollerance levels are for mechanical error in speedos and human error in reading the dial and that sort of thing. He said, "Yeah, you've hit the nail on the head there". Because he'd been out of the traffic department for twelve months, he wasn't entirely up to date on everything (well, until recently, I'd hope). Apparently they've changed the tollerance, so it's down to on average about 3km/h. I'd like to know where the state government actually publishes its standard laws and fines. I'd like to know how going 20km/h over the limit on the highway in 2000 gives me a $90 fine and 1 point, but going 13km/h over in 2004 gives me $150 or whatever the hell it is, and 3 points. I'll have to see if I can find where they publish the fines.

There, I vented a lot of stuff by rambling incoherently about one the of minor things that happened this week.

Yes, a $150 speeding ticket is a minor thing this week.

Anyhoo, I'm not dead.
Matty.K


Oh yeah, welcome to Spring!