From the Brain of Matty

a very meh day (07.09.04 8:25 pm)

If I'd have been on a computer a few hours ago, this would be a really grumpy entry. As it is, I can't be bothered digging it all up again.

I just finished helping Shell with another shoot, this time of a guy boxing (in the studio). Sort of like those Olympic promo studio shots you've been seeing around over the previous few weeks. It ended up being good, and I didn't mind it.. but from the start I didn't really want to be there.

It all started today when I got my project work done. Yes! I did all the stuff I had set out to do this morning. Which, as you know, is just not right. But not right in a good way. Actually, it all started when last night, knowing that I had an 8am lectre today, Shell said we should probably stay overnight at her parents' place.. since we were there already. I, of course, didn't realise it was alreay half past eleven at the time. But I went to be pretty soon after that, and slept through until 7ish. But even with her consideration and my (albeit unwitting) attempt to go to bed at a semi decent time, it was still no way near enough sleep. THEN there was this morning, when I got my project work done. Then, while starting to do some of the other (more interesting) things I have waiting for me in the office, Shell came on MSN Messenger and told me she was hungry, and that I should go home for lunch. So I started to wind up what I was doing (ignoring the recurring 'Come home, I'm hungry' going on in the background), and drove back to her parents' place. Where I sat around for an hour or so watching (and helping) her print out contact proofs and letterheads and thingies. Yeah, very hungry Shell. Eventually I bullied her into actually going down to the shops to pick up some lunch - I was also quite hungry by that stage. While there, we got some batteries to use during the shoot this evening. Did that, all cool, borrowed her father's ute [because our car was 'too messy'. When I noted that the ute was actually messier, the response was 'Yes, but it's not my mess']. Originally it was going to be a weight-lifting shoot, which would require the ute to carry the weights and stuff.. but we changed it to boxing before leaving (and took the ute anyway). So... we went to the sports store and borrowed a bunch of stuff, no hassles. Then we went to uni and Shell did the usual queueing to borrow equipment. During which time I had to go back to the ute twice to see what she'd left in the tray (a bag of prop stuff), and if she actually brought the CD case (with batteries in) from her parents' place. Which she hadn't. So I hd to drive allll the way back across town to pick up the CD box, left the ute there, and came back in our own car. [Payback. You make me drive all the way, you deal with the fact that you think the cars a mess! Haha!] I did that, then I sat around playing with the camera working out how to load the batteries and flash card, and how to turn it on, while Shell went to pick up the model. Then he came, we teased him a bit about not being able to pull a 'serious' (let alone 'angry') face while boxing. She eventually got a bunch of shots she was happy with, and the three of us had fun doing it. Then we all went to drop him off at his place, then drove back to uni, where we're now in a general access computer lab; Shell's downloading the images from the camera, and I'm posting in my diary.

So all in all it's been a very neutral day. Things have been good, but filed down to 'meh' again. Things have been bad, but lraised up to 'meh' level. What a very 'meh' day.

It bugs me, though, when people read over my shoulder while I'm typing, see a few phrases, assume they know the entire context, and complain that everyone in the world who reads this is going to think I have a horrible wife. In the words of Hagrid, oops, I probably shouldn't have said that. I don't have a horrible wife. I have a wife. 'Nuff said. =)

So that's my day. Meh.
Chow belly
matty /<