From the Brain of Matty

fasta pasta (11.09.04 7:43 pm)

Man, I just ate almost too much pasta for dinner. It was this really yummy .. ravioli type thing in creamy tomato sauce with cheese, from the pasta shop down the street from the parents-in-laws' place. (Where I'm at right now). Shouldn't eat pasta before bed, too many carbs. Ah well. Now I need something sugary to drink. Coke would suffice. I wonder if my lovely wife could be cajoled into getting me some...

Not bloody likely.

Today I worked on the assignment some more. I have three or four questions knocked over, and another one or two in progress. So that's almost all seven of them. So I should have it done okay. I hope.

The question I'm playing with right now is: "Give and analyze (time bound and correctness) an algorithm to find the longest monotonically increasing subsequence of a sequence of numbers that runs in O(n2) time."

I cheated.

I wrote a program in C++ that does all that, debugged it, wrote a better version, and now have something I'm pretty happy with. So I'm going to reverse-engineer the logic of it, derive the algorithm, and then work out the running time analysis. I don't want to work out the correctness; I'm just assuming it works. That's good enough for me!

I like cubbles.

Matty /<