From the Brain of Matty

australianana (25.01.05 9:39 am)

I am, and always will be Australian, no matter where I live in the world. One of the things I'm (sadly) proud of as an Australian is this transcript from the morning show on the radio, during the 'Clever Dick' competition:

DJ:  What year was Townsville founded?
Guy: Can you give us a hint?
DJ:  No, it's the final question.
Guy: Alright.. uhm...
DJ:  Ten seconds are up, what's your answer?
Guy: Ahh.. Eighteen...
DJ:  ... yeah..?
Guy: Sixty... four?
DJ:  Man, you picked that out of your arse, didn't you.

Who else in the world uses a phrase like 'picked that out of your arse'? On the radio?

Now onto my usual ramble. The weekend. Where to begin. Okay, twice in as many days I was nearly run off the road by idiots who cut me off. Now, sure, we all get cut off. But it was pissing down rain, visibility was low, traction was lower, I had my headlights on so as to be as visible as possible and, well.. first, a tow-truck driver who had been called out to a prang decided I didn't exist, and drove right across the road in front of me, and I barely managed to skid to a halt before smashing the windscreen in on Shell. Then, a day later, a git in a Fairlane also decided I didn't exist, and pulled out right in front of me, so I slid to a halt and missed tail-ending him by a couple of centimetres.

Yes, it's been raining. I love the rain.

Then, we got a flat tyre, so we're driving around on the spare. And now that I finally have close to enough money to buy this and this, I have a million bills and expenses pouring in, so I can't actually buy them. Grr! And now that Shell has gone to 9-5 work, now is when we need to arrange all the carpet cleaning and phone/power reconnection and all that, during office hours.. so it's up to me, who hates that sort of thing, and also has work to do during the day - but because it's unpaid, it's less important. So I'm suddenly thrown in the deep end with that.

So I have a lot of money, but I'm broke. I have heaps of time, but I haven't had a chance to take a rest. I get plenty of sleep, but I'm still depressed. It's all so frustrating.

And then there's Centrelink, constantly nagging at the corner of my mind. Damn them!

Sorry for such an incoherent rant. I'm going to .. like .. play Joint Ops for a bit, or something.

Matty /<