From the Brain of Matty

stupid people (29.04.05 5:01 pm)

I'm bored, tired, burnt out, and slightly depressed. I'm just completely worn down. The past few weeks haven't been too terrible, but the good bits have been pretty few and far between. It's quite tiring having money for about half a day out of every fortnight, and having to put most of it into paying off debts. Especially when there's hardly any food in the house. I know we should go shopping with what little we have left over, but then we'd be spending everything on necessities, and nothing on luxuries.. which would drive us both absolutely mental.

There's a woman in the class who's just so absolutely dense it astounds me. Every week she calls me over at least half a dozen times to explain to her what the questions in the text are asking. I usually answer by reading it out word for word. Apparently she doesn't bother reading the questions. When things don't work, I look up at step one and say 'did you do that?'. Half the time she hasn't. The rest of the time it's step 2 she's missed. And every week we go through the same thing, over and over and over again. And then she pulls these stupid faces and rolls her eyes and says how much she doesn't like computers. God! I'm surprised she likes anything at all, if she can't read a fifteen word paragraph describing in minute detail every gesture required to achieve some goal.

It's not just her, I actually fairly hate most people these days. Not Shell, and not the folks in the office. Not people I know (except for the stupid ones, of course). Last night, when I had a little bit of money, we went to the shopping centre to buy me some new clothes. I got a red shirt, which I'm wearing now (along with my black trousers and good shoes). But yeah, after picking up the shirt, I found out the tie that was meant to go with it was actually twice the marked price (and of course, it was my fault for assuming the marked price was accurate, instead of going to one of those stupid scanner things they have around the place that tell you the prices). Then, after putting that back because I couldn't afford it, we walked back out, and by the time we got to the car I was literally ignoring everyone else in the shopping centre, walking ina straight line, and leaving it up to all of them to get out of my bloody way - because people are so rude, ignorant, selfish, and stupid. I know you can't see what is immediately behind you, but I also know it's possible to quickly turn your head a little and see if there's anyone there before shambling out in front of them. Or stopping suddenly. Or reaching across them. And then there're those lovely people who do all that while facing you. So I just kept on walking. If they want to run in to me, let them. I was bigger than most people in the place, and more pissed off than the rest. Shell just kind of hung on behind me, floating along in my wake. Then we went home and watched a movie, which was much better.

I don't know what's going on this weekend. I can't remember. I think I'm meant to mark some assignments, which is going to be tricky since I don't really have internet access. Plus I have about -2.3% motivation to mark stupid damned assignments. I just want to curl up in bed with a book, with my wife snuggling me, and do nothing. Except maybe eating occasionally. That'd be nice.

Anyway, I'm going to head off. I can't be buggered staying here. There's only half an hour left in the class (and most people are leaving - including the stupid lady, who can't possibly have finished). So I'm leaving.

Ciao all.
Don't be stupid like all the others.
Matty /<