From the Brain of Matty

boooring (02.06.05 12:33 pm)

This week is swot-vac (also known as "study vacation"), that lovely week we get after lectures are finished, but before exams. Time to polish up on our notes, revise our revision, and try to memorise the entire text book, hoping to remember it for the next two weeks for exams.

Except I had two assignments due this week, and one to mark.

On Monday I worked at, completed, and handed in the first assignment (a stupid Python chat server) - I have no idea how I went, I didn't really look at the marking criteria...

On Tuesday and Wednesday I basically started, finished, and submitted an entire online shopping cart system in PHP. I know I dropped a mark or two on some stupid javascript crap, but I don't care.

Now today, on Thursday, I'm marking website assignments for one of the subjects I teach. I said I'd probably have them done by tomorrow arve, so today & tomorrow are mostly gone.

So I have no time to swot. Damn it. I need to do my revision. (That is, I need to read the notes of all the lectures I didn't attend.)

Ah well. At least I'm not really sick or overly tired at the moment.

Although, on top of all the uni work, Shell went and got me signed up to weekly recorder lessons (plus practice), a fortnightly trivia night (tonight), and was trying to get me to join a medieval recreation society. Sure, I'd like to join them ... but I'd prefer to wait until uni is over. I don't have time to breathe as it is.

But she means well, and it's all fun enough. We're actually having a social life! (Playing recorder, dressing up as crusading knights, and naming the 8 European countries that start with 'S' - how geeky are we?)

I don't want to mark any more assignments. I want to cry a little bit, then play Join Ops. Then I might consider marking some more.

It's not fair.

I'm not dead.
Matty /<