From the Brain of Matty

domino's, honours, robots (26.07.05 2:44 pm)

Yeah, another one of those updates. I used to write a lot more, but I just don't have the time lately. At least, not when I'm online.

For the past couple of weeks I've been delivering pizzas, because we're very poor, and all our expenses and bills came in at once. On top of that, the Ergon job still hasn't payed me - and the debt I was going to pay off with it has been referred to a private debt collector, and I have until the 30th to get that settled before it goes to court/whatever. Fortunately today - after a couple of weeks of constant bugging them - I got an email telling me it's going to be payed today. I don't know when today. Probably won't be available until first thing tomorrow.

Anyway, the pizzas.. I'm so tired. I'm working too much, and not getting enough money for it, and I feel stressed (the reason I got the job was to cover the bills, but I haven't covered them yet - so I still have that stress, plus the added stress of no time off). I work every day except Mondays (my one night off!), but I've been offered Honours at Uni (!?!?).. so I'm doing it. But that means I'm at uni doing real uni work 9-5 Monday to Friday, and delivering pizzas (usually about 5:30-8:30ish) Tuesday-Sunday. Which leaves me almost no time at all for Shell, or for just chilling out.

Now I feel kind of dizzy, which sucks, because I have to head off in half an hour so I can get changed and go to Domino's for my 4:30 start.

Oh yeah, last week I did a few days' work for the university, demonstrating Lego Robotics to schoolies again. I should get some money form that next Thursday, so that'll be good, too. More stressful work that takes up my time, but it's done now, and I have the money to look forward to.

For Honours I'm going to do .. something to do with image recognition and partitioning and stuff. Probably nothing too fancy, seeing as it's only honours-level (not some fancy PhD or something). I dunno specifically what it'll be, though. Maybe a clever way of dividing colour (RGB) images into foreground and background? Ideas, anyone?

I'm going to get a coke, and see if the sugar makes me feel not so sick/dizzy. Then I might go home and have a shower. What I need is sleep.

I'm not dead.
Ciao all.