From the Brain of Matty

Domino's (01.08.05 10:02 am)

I want to quit.

The job itself is fine, I really quite enjoy driving around by myself, and I don't really mind dealing with customers (even most of the complainy ones), and there's nothing really wrong with being inside the shop either (although that's the bit I like least). The real problem is with the management.

When I tell them I "can't come in before 5:30pm Monday to Friday because I'm at uni" they go and roster me on at 4:00pm. Then there's the fact that when I started I was told I could have Mondays off (my only day the week), but that doesn't seem to count anymore because I'm on tonight (at 5:30, after I told them I'm not coming in before then). And to make it better, I've worked one shift since starting that actually finished when it was meant to according to the roster.

Last night I was rostered on from 4 until 6:30, so at 6:20 after I'd done a delivery I asked the manager if it was okay for me to go home ... he just looked at me blankly and said, "Why?"

I replied, "Well, the roster says my shift is up now, and we have plans tonight for 7:30" (Which was a lie, but I don't care)

He just looked really pissed off, went off and did the moody thing he does when he's pissed off, I took another delivery, and when I got back the Assistant Manager asked me if I could take one more delivery before I went home - so I did, I'm not a complete arse. Then I signed off at 7:30 (only an hour after my shift - less than usual) and went home. I was actually very tempted to give them my notice then and there. From now on I'm going to work whatever hours are on my shift - no more, and if I'm rostered on too many hours in a week, I'm going to scrap some of them. Unfortunately, I'm living two lives already before Domino's, and they're each of them a million times more important than delivering Pizzas. (One of them is university, and the other is being a husband) I don't mind working a four or five hour shift on a weeknight, as long as I know beforehand that it's going to be that long. And if they don't like it, then I'm just going to quit - and then they'll have even less drivers. I don't care.

Now today I'm going to pester the university until someone gives me something in frigging writing that says 1) I've completed my Bachelor's degree, 2) I've been oficially offered Honours, and 3) I've been enrolled in my Honours subjects, all of which have been suggested to me, but I still don't have anything official. Grr.

Matty /<
Not happy.