From the Brain of Matty

another friday (12.08.05 2:21 pm)

Well, another Friday rolls around. I need to get more sleep.

This past week uni has started back for everyone, so all the other Domino's staff members who were away on holidays are working again, so my shifts are actually running for the 2 hours on the roster. Last night I was actually rostered on for 3 hours, but they didn't need me and I didn't particularly feel like staying, so I left after 2 hours. It's amazing, only doing a few deliveries, then going home to spend time with my wife.

Only problem is I have to much to do at uni, and really not that much time to do it in. By the time I get here (9:15ish), get logged in and read my email (9:30), get into actually reading my papers or whatever it is I have to do that day, then I usually have to go to a class or meeting. Then when I get back I eat something, then the afternoons I sit down and try to do more research, but by then I'm a bit tired and my concentration wavers, and before I know it it's 4:30 and I have to pack up and head home so I can get to work by 5:30 (5:00 on Fridays). So I get about 4 hours out of a theoretical 8 hour day to actually do what I'm here to do.

Today I had/ve three meetings, so I only managed to read half a paper. I'm still recovering from the last meeting, and waiting for the next one (in half an hour). In the meanwhile I'm writing in my diary (no, really?) and going over the one and only subject I'm tutoring this semester - CP2060 - Computer Graphics. I enjoyed this subject back when I did it (in like '02), and it's something I'm actually quite good at, so it should be good to do this semester. Especially since it's only like 4-5 contact hours a week (at almost $30/hr or whatever it is). Yay! OpenGL!

Okay, I'm going to go look up similar-but-different definitions of the "Scientific Method" because I have to for one of my subjects. Then I should try to find some papers on Web Ontologies, because I have to for the other subject. I still barely even get what an Ontology is. Ah well.

Ciao tutti!
Be well.

Matty /<