From the Brain of Matty

lost (08.05.06 9:16 am)

As I said last post, Friday was 's birthday. I didn't go in to uni so I could spend the day with her, we had Macca's for breakfast, and I baked her a cake.

I also played Gran Turismo on the weekend for the first time in yonks. I bought a New Beetle 2.0, which is pretty lame (although I topped it at 255km/h) and a Mustang (which off the floor was almost as powerful and about as fast as my fully hotted-up RX-7 Infini III). Not that anyone cares.

...

, one upon a time, many many moons ago, I was kicked out of New Zealand. I had to live by myself, out of my own (empty) pocket for two weeks, in backpackers' hostels and whatnot until I could get a flight back to Australia. That was pretty stressful. Then, a year later, I almost lost myself walking around Sydney while spending a whole day laying over on the way from Townsville to Melbourne. Then, another year or two later when I got back from the US I inadvertantly (through stupid unpreparedness) got myself stranded in Caboolture, which is about a thousand kilometres (actually probably more like 1500km) from Mum's place in Mackay, with absolutely no money. Oh yeah, then when I came up to Townsville for the first time, I ended up having to stay at my soon-to-be-girlfriends' parents' place because I was broke (my, how times change). And then, when I had to get back to Mackay from Townsville with no money, I hitch-hiked my way to and spent a day stranded at a truck stop just outside Townsville until I got rescued around midnight (after falling asleep somewhere and missing my first rescue attempt). On that occasionally I had literally enough money for a single phone call, which I used.

And then there was the time my little cousin Simon and I went for a walk in the mangrove swamps near his place in Mackay, and got lost (of course), and wandered around for a few hours until we found a house, and slowly made our way back to civilisation. And we didn't get eaten by sharks or crocodiles, somehow.

So, we all end up in situations, alone, tired, far from home (some of us more often than others). Although I am glad you didn't get eaten by a crack whore or whatever.

...

I had to pay $2 excess postage for my first penpal letter. It was actually only $.95, but they tacked on a dollar in administrative fees. They'd already delivered it for me, but I had to pay in arrears. I wonder if it's reached Canadia yet...

Pht, I can't avoid it any longer. I have to get some work done. Ciao tutti! Be well.
Matty /<