From the Brain of Matty

depression (02.06.06 12:47 am)

Gods, I hate being depressed.

I've been so stressed lately. I'm supposed to aim to have the draft of my thesis completed by wednesday next week, which means I'm supposed to be spending a lot of timing working on writing it. I'm about half-way through, I think. However, at the same time, I'm working on a research paper with my supervisor, which has a looming deadline, and I'm charged with presenting the results; so I've been spending a goodly amount of time lately working on that instead of my thesis. Additionally, I have a classful of assignments to mark over the weekend. And that's only what's required for university.

I've had less and less sleep over the past few weeks; last night I was up late working on the thesis, tonight I'm at university at 1am compiling results for the paper. I'll be here for a little while yet, and I'll be back again before 9am to start a new day of stress.

When I don't get enough sleep I get depressed.


Tonight we had our second antenatal class. I'm still waiting to learn something I didn't already know, or couldn't work out for myself with a little thought. But at least we're being exposed to the hospital and the midwives and everything.

Last weekend I mowed the back yard, properly - down to about 2cm length. It still looks quite dead, since all the green bits were cut off, leaving the yellow bits underneath exposed. It'll green up in time, though. I wasn't able to do the front yard, as the garden waste bin was filled (completely, all 1.5m3). I'll do that this weekend, some time. Also, the other afternoon and I went around and cut out all the dead fronds and branches from the palms and trees in the back yard. It's amazing what a difference it makes to the whole place just spending a little time outside. We also had dinner out on the patio the other evening, just us two. It was very nice.

I wrote some haikus, but they're not very good. I left the piece of paper that they're written on at home.


Today for lunch we (the ITX crew) went to Hog's Breath in the city, since Darren has scored himself a 'real' job. It was okay - the 'medium rare' steak was pretty raw in parts, fortunately I don't mind it that way. I also had a good chat with him, which we don't get to do often being in different offices all the time.

The last image has almost finished running through the algorithms, so I'll get back to preparing those now. Ciao tutti.
Matty /<