From the Brain of Matty

off to war (03.06.06 1:30 pm)

I just mowed the front lawn. The compost bag thing is full again. Hopefully next week I'll be able to mow both lawns, especially since it's winter now and the grass shouldn't grow too fast.

Here's the message I just posted to a mailing list I'm a member of:

Hi guys,

Just thought I'd mention that my father in law has just gone off to Timor. He's a junior officer in the Royal Australian Air Force Reserve - which I gather is vaguely similar to the American National Guard, the part-time members of the defence forces. I understand his job in the RAAFR is in communications and liasons, which is why he's been asked to volunteer to go to East Timor. For the rest of the time, he's a librarian and ICT officer (ie- tech support guy) for a few local primary schools. He's posted for three months, with the possibility of extending to six months if they need him and he agrees (reservists get more say in whether or not they go), but our baby is due in two months, so either way when he gets back he'll be a grandfather. I bring this up because this list is a solid little community, and I think people like to know what's happening in the world to affect its members. I also bring it up because he's taken with him most of my Deverry books. He'd already finished the first four (the 'Spell books', as we UK-edition folk call them), and I figured I might as well let him take the others, since he's going off to war and all (sort of). So now I have triple reason to hope everything goes well for him! ;)

I'm not a religious person (in the traditional sense), but feel free to pray for him and his/my family if that's what you fell you should do.

Matty
Australian who'll have to find something else to read...

Yes, I know I made a typo, but you get the idea. It's a mailing list for one of my favourite authors, just so you know, hence the talk about books.

This weekend I have to mark a bunch of assignments, and try to finish my thesis (draft due Wednesday). Yay!

Be well tutti,
Matty /<