From the Brain of Matty

Is Uni Enough? (15.02.07 8:29 am)

Here's an email I just sent to a national breakfast TV program, which I'm posting here because otherwise probably no one will ever see it.

I'll write a butt-load about what's been happening in my life .. er .. later.


University isn't about job-readiness or practical experience. University is purely theoretical, and really only qualifies you for academia. That's all it ever was. Only recently have we assumed that a degree adds prestige in the workforce - personally I think that's silly. Someone from Tafe is usually more employable than someone with a PhD, because a PhD is purely philosophical. Tafe is hands-on. Employers and employees and the community in general shouldn't rate ability or employability on university qualifications. They can be the icing on the top of the exprience cake, but not the whole pudding.

Matty, B.Science (Computer Science) (Honours)


Chao