From the Brain of Matty

a week in the life (17.02.07 9:22 am)

Monday: got an email from a lecturer at uni whose subject I've tutored in the past, asking me if I could tutor it again. During the ensuing conversation he told me about a company in town who might like to take me on, and who I might like to work for. Tuesday night I sent them an email with my resume.

Tuesday: had a face-to-face introductory meeting with the CEO. Then at 3pm had a phone interview with another company in Canberra who I'd applied to earlier.

Wednesday: had a face-to-face meeting with the CTO, worked through some tech questions and scenarios. Went up and checked out the offices. Then went and had lunch with everyone.

Thursday: went in a picked up a contract, and introduced Shell (and Bridget) to everyone. Then went to trivia.

Friday: went to court at 9am (as a witness!), but the accused pled out at the last minute so I was out around half past. Then handed in my signed contracts and stuff.

So I start work on Monday.

I'll have to brush up on my Java skills.

Oh I also have to give a talk at uni at 4pm on Monday arvo, about PGP. That should be no worries. I made sure my new boss knew that I'd be skipping out early (on my first day.. damnit), and would make up the time when I could. He understands that it's important that I get my degree finalised. Now if only the other lecturer at uni who I need to see about getting my results finalised would get back to me. I first contacted him eight and a half weeks ago, and I still haven't heard back. I might complain.

So there you go.