From the Brain of Matty

surreality (21.09.07 11:46 pm)

What a surreal day.

This morning, on my way to drop Bridget at daycare, I got a phone call from my boss telling me that the network would be down all day, so there was no point anyone coming in. Long weekend for everybody. So I turned around and came home.

Then, since we had a day to burn, I thought it'd be neat to get the grocery shopping out of the way, thus freeing up tomorrow for ... whatever else we could come up with to do. So I took Bridget shopping. We cruised the stores in the local shopping centre. Then we picked up the groceries. Just as we were grabbing the last item (the creamed cheese) I got another call, this time from Shell - who I'd thought had already gone to work. Apparently she wasn't due in until 1ish, so she asked me to pick up something for lunch. I got kebabs.

While shopping with Bridget, we'd popped into San!ty and had a peek at the movies. I left the classic war movies (which are a bit of a penchant of mine) when I saw a box set of Johnny Depp films - Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas, Donnie Brasco, and Blow. Shell's a mad keen Johnny Depp fan, so I thought she'd appreciate it too.

Since I've seen Blow, and since I'm aware of the "bat country" web-meme, I suggested we watch Fear and Loathing. We put it on in the bedroom, Shell went to sleep, and I spent two hours forgetting and misremembering things. Like emotions. Terry Gilliam has a knack of doing that to me. I love his stuff, but it freaks me out, too.

So now it's after midnight, I'm sleep deprived, disoriented, confused, and I don't know if I'll be able to go to sleep. (Except I know that as soon as I lay down I'll conk out.)

Surreal.