From the Brain of Matty

a walk (24.09.07 8:28 pm)

This evening I went for a walk.

I don't know how to apply the right emphasis to the word "walk" in that last sentence. Imagine it said with significance.

I walked to the servo, along the streets on the way there, down the scrubby path behind the suburbs on the way back. At the servo the radio was playing Let It Be.

It's reassuring to know that my goddess still talks to me.

I wasn't sure about taking the scrubby path, which is why I took the streets on the way up, but the grass was low and the path was clear, so it turned out to be a good walk home.

Over the weekend the powers that be "updated" our workstations to run Ubuntu instead of Fedora, which IMO is a good thing, but in the process they wiped out our Gnome preferences, and forgot to properly set up the sudoers file, and a few little things like that. After lunch we managed to get some work done.

On the weekend I converted the Unicode Character Database into SQL, and wrote a basic PHP front-end for it. It's a 6MB SQL file. When I have something useful to do with it, I'll put it on the web somewhere.

That's about all. Oh, and I started rewriting an autobiography. And I removed about a thousand un- or rarely-used fonts from this computer - it's much quicker now.

That's all. Chao.