From the Brain of Matty

showerheads (31.03.08 10:19 pm)

Yesterday my parents in law decided to buy new shower and vanity fittings, to replace the cruddy old pale pink plastic dealies that the house was built with back in the early 90s. They got nice shiny chrome stuff, which is a big improvement. However, they didn't check to see what sort of bath tub or vanity are in the main bathroom (ie. the room we use — they use their en suite) so got the wrong taps and stuff. Then, because of the type of people they are, they got a shower fitting that is one fixed head and one head on a hose that you can move around. They say they chose that particular setup because they thought it would come in handy while having a shower with Bridget... despite the fact that we've managed quite fine for the past year or two with the traditional showerhead, and built quite an effective routine. I think they got it because it's gadgety, and my father in law is very gadgety. Both heads are also those silly dealies where you can turn the face around and get a massaging pulse or some sort of hyperjet stream... which basically means that 80% of the shower head's surface area never gets used, so there is a ring of water with a big dry circle in the middle. And then there's the fact that, while I'm the tallest person in the family, I'm only 6'1" or so, not exactly a towering giant.. but because of the nature of the silly fitting they chose, the fixed nozzle is actually at the height of my chin, and juts out a good 20cm or so from the wall. I've managed to find a position where, by raising the clip for the hosey attachment as high as it will go, and twisting the other nozzle aside, I can actually wash my hair; I just have to take care not to smack myself in the back of the neck. My ideal showerhead is about 15cm in diamater, with uniformly distributed holes, on a triple-jointed arm. Bog standard, no frills, boring, but effective and definitely tried and true.

In other news, Bridget has started using the potty, and we are into toilet training. She's also getting in the swing of the terrible twos (half a year early, by my calculations.) Since #2 is due in 9 days (or earlier, according to our GP) this is going to be an interesting month/year coming up. Mum and Bec are coming to visit for a week or so starting this weekend, so it's all happening. Hopefully Shell and I will get a chance to get some sleep in the meantime.

Finally, we (some of the guys at work) are thinking of starting a little Dungeons and Dragons campaign. Say what you will.

Chao alles.