From the Brain of Matty

daughter shaman (10.06.08 1:07 pm)

I think my 22-month old was a shaman in a past life. Usually when showering with a parent, if the parent is sitting on the floor of the shower, she will demand some soap and scrub our back for us — a very cute parody of us scrubbing her back, I suppose. However last night while I was sitting on the shower floor she got an evil grin on her face and starting dancing around and shouting some weird arhythmic guttural chant. She would raise one hand above her head and hold the other hand out, and bounce around a bit, then swap hands and continue. This went on for a little while. Then when the the appropriate spirits had been invoked or appeased or whatever, she dabbed the soap onto my back, and rinsed it by scraping the detachable showerhead across my shoulders. Then she stood beside me and went through some sort of ritualistic hair cleansing routine, where she would push my head to a specific angle, then run her hands through my hair spiking up little clumps, and rinsing it off with the detachable showerhead, and repeating. Then she took the shower gel bottle and held it upside down, standing in front of me, and tried to squirt some out onto my chest.. but the lid was on. So instead she poked me in the forehead with the cap of the bottle. Then she did the dance again. It was rather surreal.

I think I'll have to teach her the "old ways" and see what happens.