From the Brain of Matty

Mac OS X (28.10.04 6:20 pm)

thole doesn't look like the avatar in my head. I'm really not very good at imagining people online. I normally don't bother, but sometimes little avatars just pop into place. Not fully formed or anything, but they have features, and they're quite often very wrong. Sometimes they're spot on, though.

I haven't had much sleep lately. I think I've been saying that a lot. But it's true. Today I slept in until about 9:55 (after finally getting to bed some time around 1am). So that wasn't too bad. It was nice to get that 8 hours. I needed it.

I still haven't programmed a mirror. Last time I tried, there were all these inexplicable errors caused by the stupid stencils. So I haven't touched it for a while.

I fired up Operation Flashpoint the other day, for the first time in months and months. It's such an awesome game. I made a new island and some very basic missions for it. It's quite fun - I like it. I've also been working on a new texture set, at 512x512 instead of the default 128x128. It's very much prettier, and there's hardly any performance hit on the computers we're running it on today. Tres groovy.

I wonder if I'll get in a Delta Force: Black Hawk Down mood soon. It has a cool editor.

Now I'm sitting in the Photography computer lab (where I'm not meant to be, but I've been around the Dept. of Photography as long as most of Shell's classmates, so they don't notice me anymore). Shell's... doing something, on the other computer. She has to help people sort out thank-yous for the exhibition or something. I like this Macs. They're G4s. I don't know which build of OSX they're running (and I don't know how to find out), but they're very usable. And the groovy 1680x1050 widescreen flat LCDs are pretty sweet too.

Ah, it's 10.3.2 .. which I'm assuming is Panther, but the Apple Mac OS X site says that version 10.4 will be Panther. Meh, I don't understand Mac versions. I just know it works nicely enough. Better than bloody Windows XP, in my experience.

Anyway, that's all that happens in my life when I'm not posting. [Which is why I don't post - I'm so boring.]

Ciao tutti!
Matty /<


EDIT oh yeah, all this stuff happened too. I forgot. I was asleep through most of it.

Someone's discovered Real Life Hobbit Remains! .. Sort of. How cool it that?

Okay I'm gone now.
Ciao!