From the Brain of Matty

so very tired (24.01.07 8:18 pm)

So very tired.

I've had a look around, and noticed that a lot of what gets written here at diaryland is a bunch of complaining. Normally I'd try my best to void doing the same thing, because really, who wants to listen to (or read about) someone bitching about things the reader probably has no clue about in the first place?

Answer: lots of people, apparently. Otherwise why would we all keep browsing complete strangers' diaries?

So I'll complain.

Bridget hasn't been sleeping well - we've been told it's probably to do with her teeth - and as a result I haven't been sleeping well. For the past week I haven't actually had a straight 8 hours, which I've heard is the medically assessed minimum "healthy" amount of sleep an adult should have a night. Instead what I've been getting is a few two-hour bursts between interruptions, or maybe a couple of hours right in the `dead zone' (around 3-4am) of constant interruption. Last night I couldn't even get to sleep until 1:30, which sucked because I got woken up around 6:30.

In fact right now she's crying, tormenting her grandmother (my mother-in-law) and not me. I'm guessing it's mostly tiredness, and possibly a little bit of hunger. It's awfully close to her bedtime.

Okay, now she's sitting on my lap screaming. I'll finish this post later.


Later: she has a new nappy, and is about to be fed by Mummy. So where was I?

Oh yeah, sleep. I don't get it. And the poor creature is so grumbly and complainy and runny and sniffly and out of sorts lately. I wouldn't imagine blaming her for it. And it's not entirely Shell's fault, either. But I still end up grumpy as a result.

Oh, and today I forgot to eat. All I need is a butt-load of exercise and an increased metabolism and I'll be set! But my head hurts.

It's been raining the past couple of days. Today was mostly reprieve, but it sounds a bit blowy and maybe showery tonight. The front yard is a dense green jungle - which is a pleasant change from the past few months as a yellow semi-arid savannah. The back yard is a swamp. That is to say, it's a great big puddle, but the grass is long enough that most of the water is hidden (until stepped in). Out by the clothes line it's what I think of as a great big puddle of wee. It's yellowy, warm, and stinks. At least it doesn't stink of wee. Our washing is all shoved on the under-cover line at the moment, in some cases doubled up on the lines since there's not enough room.

My lovely wife should wash more than once a week.

I'd do it, but it's womens' work after all.

Now I might go get a bite to eat (to stop my head hurting), or go lay down and sleep (to stop my head hurting), or maybe both.

Goodnight diaryland. I hope any passing readers are happy with my rambling complainy post!