From the Brain of Matty

the pressure (25.01.07 8:27 am)

It's funny.. I finally decide to throw a few banners up, and realise this means I'll have some click-through traffic, and suddenly I feel all this pressure to provide a diary that won't leave the click-throughers feeling let down or even resentful that they wasted all that time clicking and loading my page just to have something boring or irrelevant that they don't understand.

How sad.

The thing is, I really shouldn't care. It shouldn't be even the slightest concern. But it is. In the past, any visitors I had would have fallen under two categories: friends, and random googlers. The people reading my carpy blog would have either been people who know me and understand what I'm going on about, or random people who followed "My favorite diaries" links (if anyone has me listed as a favorite..) or Google listings. Either way, I'm under no obligation to provide them with something. It was my blog, not the readers'.

So then I go and advertise.

Suddenly I realise I have readers. And I'm actively attracting them. Which means I should be providing them with something! But what would they want to be provided with? Will they want to keep reading the same old random carp I usually post? Or will they want witty (un)informative posts like Scott Adams's blog? Should I give them what they want? Or what I think they want? Or what I want?

Argh, the pressure! I could never be an author.

Although one click-througher left me a note! A polite note, no less! So at least one reader hasn't had their intelligence assaulted (yet). There is hope...

In the time between my last post and this post, not a lot has happened. I got a bit of sleep, and it rained some more. Bridget's currently asleep on our bed. Shell had a bit of a breakdown about her parents (finally, she has one and not me - things are getting back to normal). And I made us toast for breakfast.

How boring. I'm going to lose my readers, and worse - probably make some of them disappointed or upset that they wasted all that time clicking my banner!