From the Brain of Matty

salty breasts (27.01.07 1:56 pm)

Yesterday afternoon Shell and I worked the Australia Day concert at the entertainment centre. Paul Kelly put on a free gig, so the place was pretty well packed. Here's a verse of one of the songs he did, which stuck in my head for some reason:

When we kiss she tastes so salty
On her cheek and on her neck
I can't wait 'till I get with her
So I can kiss her salty breasts

Unrelatedly, I worked on Door 2 with Hayley, who has apparently worked there for months, but I've never seen her before. We were chatting for a bit before people starting coming in, and I mentioned something Shell had told me, and Hayley said, "Oh.. I didn't expect you to say you were married." I think she was almost disappointed! How's that for stroking the old ego? Either that or the old ego was stroking the intonation and I just heard it how I wanted to. Whatever. It's weird thinking someone other than my beautiful, gorgeous wife would consider .. I dunno, would consider me in any way other than a big scary overweight hairy yob.

Except Princess Jessica, of course. But everyone knows she adores me. For whatever reason..

This morning I posted the spare BC:CE to Glen. It should arrive Monday or Tuesday.

Then I mowed the lawn.

Half of the lawn.

Without the catcher.

It's amazing, really, what a week of rain followed by two days of sunshine can do to grass. Parts of it were about a foot tall. That's no hyperbole, it was literally reaching up my shin towards my knee - higher than the mower. Hence no catcher. I just slashed it all down to the highest I ever mow to (#6 setting on the carriage height - whatever that is). I may rake some of it up later on. There's still a lot of water sitting in the yard. It should evaporate better now that the sun can reach it.

Tonight I think we're going to .. I forget where, some place, for dinner with the trivia team. We've finally found a way to spend our winnings from last season's Jackpot Tournament thingy. Every week they ask three Jackpot questions; if your team gets all three right you win the Jackpot, otherwise you get a point for every answer you get right (or 1/2 a point for turning up) and at the end of the season, if no one gets all three in one night, the team with the highest score wins. And we won, last time. Two months ago. So we're going to dinner.

I might veg out for the rest of the afternoon. Maybe play some WoW. Have fun, alles.

PS when I said July 4 I meant the American July 4, not the Canadian July 4 which is so important there's no point me even comparing it to any other day, since they all pale in comparison.