From the Brain of Matty

still not dead (26.07.04 8:24 am)

Well, I'm still here, and I still don't want to be here. But it isn't so bad now that Shell and I have come to terms with the fact that this isn't a nice place to be. We're used to the routine of Deb not doing much but upsetting the children, staying out all night drinking, never being less than an hour late for anything, and sleeping all morning while the kids run the house. The weekend was cool because I had Shell, and we spent most of the time walking around new parts of the city or the shopping centre here, together. Well, "most of the time" after Deb had gotten out of bed, since she's the one with the car, which meant on Saturday not until about lunch time (despite her promise to the girls that she take them to a school fete at 10am. Her excuse: my friends dragged me out clubbing in the city and I didn't get home until 5am). This morning I dropped Shell off at the train station at about 7:20-ish, because she has to be in at work experience today by 8:30. Now as that time arrives Debbie is probably about to get up, judging by the sounds, to take the kids to school. I wonder if then she'll a) go back to sleep (not too likely as she was home before 3am this time) or b) turn everything up really loud, shout over it, possibly take her nephew back to court, and sit around all day laughing about how she feels like a teenager or how young her friends act (understandable, since they're all 16-22, and she's 37) or how much she has to do around the place or something.

But aha! Today I have money! Not much, but it should be enough to buy myself a weekly transit pass! So I can blow this musty old pop stand and just get the hell out whenever I feel like it. I could even be waiting at the station when Shell gets out of work and we could ride it home together! At least, if I knew when she'd finish today. Ah well, I can still do a runner. I don't mind finding out how long it takes to walk to the train station. (I'm betting on just under an hour)

I'm not dead.
m�tT��/<

ps: I think they just left for school, and it's 8:36 by the computer clock