From the Brain of Matty

revenge of the finger (24.08.04 7:34 pm)

Greetings.

Last night we stayed at my parents-in-laws' (sic.) place so Shell could stay up late working on some project proposal or something that required a functional computer. However, in all my stupid wisdom, I managed to stay up later then her. So then, when I got up in time to get to my 8am lecture, I was pretty well out of it. Thus I forgot that my lecturer is away today and there was no 8am lecture. *sigh* So I sat around the office at uni playing with the TrueVision Targa file format specs for most of the day, and eventually worked out some pretty neat stuff. At least I think it's pretty neat. One thing I did notice this morning, despite my not-enough-sleep-induced stupour, was the deep gash my wedding ring had carved in the door handle at Maths/Physics the previous morning. I didn't realise 9ct gold was so much stronger than reinforced aluminium alloys. But there it was, a nasty little gash in the door handle, a lasting reminder of my brief trip to agonyville. Since the swelling was down today, I put the wedding ring back on. I should have realised someting was up when it felt a little tight going over the knuckle. By lunch time it was starting to ache a tad, so I attempted to ease the ring back off. That is how I have managed to seriously injure my left ring finger twice in as many days. The bruise that spanned from joint to joint has faded away again, but it's still quite tender. I think tomorrow I'll just leave the ring on my right pinkie.

Consider it a lesson learned.

mÄtT¥·/<