From the Brain of Matty

what a weekend (30.08.04 6:18 pm)

Okay we'll start at the beginning. I can't remember Friday, so Saturday is the beginning.

On Saturday Shell had work in the morning, and then was doing one of her make-up work experience days [See brief note here] assisting a wedding shoot with the guy who runs the photography business next door to the Gold Shop. So I dropped her at work in the morning and came out to uni, as is usual for a Saturday. Then, since I was allowed to stay - unlike most Saturdays, stay I did. Until maybe 3 in the afternoon (I don't remember the exact time). By the end of it, with insufficient breakfast, no lunch, and sitting in the dark staring at a bright screen, I had one hell of a migraine headache. So I bought myself a chocolate bar and used that energy to allow me to drive home. Then eventually I went and picked up Shell from the wedding reception place.

Which leads to part 2, Saturday night. You see, this weekend Shell had a photography conference on Magnetic Island, which was compulsory for one of her uni courses. And I went along because there was a special deal for spouses. So after picking her up from the wedding reception place, we went home, packed, and found out what times the Ferry leaves for the island. Unfortunately, the next ferry within a reasonable time was due to leave about 45 minutes from when we found out; so we got in the car and I drove to Shell's mother's place (using the kind of driving I usually reserve for trying to get to work to pick Shell up when I know I'm running late) - got there in under 20 minutes (not bad, especially since we had to wait for a train crossing).. and then it was up to Shell's mother to drive us all the way back across town - after we'd picked up some of our washing from there, and left the car as there's no cheap parking near the terminal. Suffice to say, we pulled up at the terminal, jumped out of the car, waved goodbye as we ran off, stepped onto the boat, found a seat, and started moving off. But we did get there, and got the right bus, and checked into the right resort, and everything was gravy.

On Sunday morning we went and had breakfast together, then Shell went to her conference thingy, and I went for a little walk. If I could be bothered, I'd draw a map, but it wouldn't look impressive enough anyway. Basically I walked from the resort at Nelly bay, around the road to Geoffry Bay in Arcadia, then along the beach and along the point out to the barge landing where the rock wallabies live (if I ever get the photos developed and scanned I may post them online). Then I walked back in and around to Alma Bay, then trekked along the left arm of the bay and climbed the natural rocky scrubby knob at the end and wandered through the back yard of some other resort looking place, before slowly making my way back around to the resort. I didn't even make myself bleed on the sharp rocks/grass/trees/etc! And I never saw a single snake, or dangerous spider (although I did see some non-dangerous ones - of course - this is North Queensland after all).

Then on Sunday night there was a 'cocktail party' for the conference, which was wines & beer on a tab, with live music, and lots of schmoozing with professional photographer type people. Then Shell got approached by one of her lecturers asking if she wanted to go out on the shoot in the morning with Steve Parish (ie: only the most famous Australian photographer ever). Eventually I convinced her to say yes - despite her lack of film/tripod/nerves/etc. Then the lovely man from Fuji gave her a pack of really snazzy expensive slide film, and one of the other guys there leant her his ultra groovy trigger action universal ball joint tripod, and I eventually convinced her to go to sleep so that she could wake up to meet the other four people (including Steve) at 6am to go photographing. Doubtless you'll be able to read all about it on her diary. Anyway, she did actually go, and she did actually shoot some pictures, so that was tr�s groovy. If the pics are good enough, the Fuji man will give her more film later on.


Okay, Shell has just walked in and her parents are waiting out in the car park so I think I'll finish this entry when I get the chance. Ciao tutti!
m�tT��/<