From the Brain of Matty

cubicles (23.09.04 4:09 pm)

I work in an office without cubicles, with an open door, and an informal attitude. Actually, I work in the development lab next door - where no one but me usually goes. It's twice the size of the office, had just as many computers, and I can leave the lights off. (Actually, I don't really work anywhere. I'm too busy being a student do 'work')

We have no cubicles, but I feel like Dilbert none the less. The CEO's hair isn't pointy, but it should be. I really want to get a short-sleeved white shirt and a short, diagonally-striped tie that I can stick a piece of wire in to make it always bend upwards. Then I'll feel right at home.

We have no cubicles in the office, but there are other cubicles around the place. Of a slightly different nature (although not that different, when you think about it. The same sort of stuff gets done in them.) The cubicle nearest the door in the men's room on the ground floor of the TESAG building has some little graffiti that have been there for almost as long as I've been coming to JCU. However they've faded drastically with time (not to mention the university's continual scrubbing in an attempt to remove them). So I thought, I should save them! Not all of them. Just the ones that, for some reason or another, always stand out to me. The ones that are either witty, evocative, or just plain get under my skin. Don't ask me why I "like" them, I just do. Here are a couple:

  HOW DO YOU CONFUSE A 1ST YEAR
  UNI STUDENT?
  WRITE "PLEASE TURN OVER" ON
  BOTH SIDES OF HIS LECTURE PAD
                   Thats Shit                     TESAG rhymes with fag

                                                          Is high school no longer a prerequisite for uni?


                                   "Vandalisim" is a crime
  Studying how to                            
   suck farts                           So is your spelling!
    out of ur arse

There, a small piece of JCU history saved for future generations to admire in the same ways that I do.

I'm not dead.
Matty /<