From the Brain of Matty

oh dear gods (14.03.05 9:52 am)

Okay, now I can jinx it. Shell is pregnant, and I'm fairly confident that it's mine. On Saturday she took a home test, and I was woken with a weird plastic thingy shoved in my face with some blue line on it. Whatever the hell that was meant to mean. Then we took her to her doc, and she did another, more fancy, pee-in-this-thingy test, which also came up positive. Then she had some blood taken and blah blah blah. Then we went and told her parents, and she's nervous about their reaction (as opposed to "what they really think"). Yesterday I phoned Mum and told her she's going to be a grandmother - she's decided she wants to be called Ma, as in "hey Ma, the hogs is in the corn!" (that's her words), and then phoned Bec to tell her she's going to be an Auntie. We're not really telling anyone else yet (except in my diary, obviously) because the first three months are the real danger period apparently, so we just wanted to let our support base know in case anything happens. After that, we'll start spreading the news.

Scary huh? I'm a father (sort of). At the moment, what with it being a month old, I've nick-named it 'Blob'. Blob Kerwin. If it's a boy it'll be Phillip Ross. If it's a girl, we still don't know what to call it. Ah well, 8 months to work that all out.

See? I'm too optimistic. If anything adverse happens, it's going to shatter me. :o/

Ah well. At least I'll have work and uni to keep my mind occupied. Better get back to it.

Ciao tutti!
Matty /<