From the Brain of Matty

19 Years Later (24.07.07 7:29 pm)

Yesterday Shannon (the world's office's biggest Harry Potter fan) loaned me her copy of The Deathly Hallows. Then I came home and found that my father-in-law had finished reading his copy and had loaned that one to me as well. I took it as a sign*. On several occasions through the night Shell got mad at me and told me to come to bed. Which I did, finally, at around 3:30, despite having only a couple of chapters to go (!!).

I finished it this morning before getting out of bed.

*actually I didn't take it as a sign; I was planning on staying up and reading it anyway, but it sounds better this way

I don't know what else to say. I think it was good. No worse than any of the other six. From about halfway, though, it's hard to draw breath. I think when my brain catches up (and has a good sleep in which to mull it over) I'll understand better how much I liked it. Then I'll reread it in a few months. Then I'll know. Until then, I was up until 3:30ish (but couldn't sleep), was back up at 6:30ish, had to deal with a vomiting baby at 7:30ish, finally got off to work at 9:30ish, worked until 5:30ish, and now at 7:30ish my brain has stalled.

It's.. er, 624 pages (I think), and overall it took me around 10 hours. That's a little over a page a minute, with distractions. I have no idea if that counts as slow. I type much slower.

Okay, time to get Bridget McBarfychunks into her bath. Chao alles.


Update: 8:07pm that's what I was going to say, how the hell did Neville get the sword back, if the goblin had run off with it? Silly magic hat.