From the Brain of Matty

moving office (14.06.08 9:34 pm)

Today we moved office again. It seems to be a much more permanent place, this time. I turned up when almost everyone was at the old place loading up the truck (the second load), so while I was practically alone I unshipped and set up my desk, choosing for myself the prime position in the only spot with a view, under the only window in that wall. Then I spent until almost 5pm unpacking boxes, setting up desks, playing spontaneous games of ping-pong mini-golf, unpacking more boxes, and setting up more desks.

The new place is enormous. We're taking the whole first floor of a building (which basically means two or three suites). All the current staff have been set up in a corner, about a third of the total floor space, and using a quarter of the available offices. I set up the ping-pong table (when it arrived) in the wide section that continues from the fire hallway. At five, Evan and I had a game, and it turns out my preferred mode of play is standing a metre or two behind the table, smashing the ball over the net. No wonder, then, that in the old place I was so far down the employee ranking table�standing that far behind the table was never even an option.

Tonight in the shower I managed to remove most of a wart on my toe. Stupid damned thing. I have a couple, and they never used to be an issue, but recently they started hurting, so I got some acid wash cream stuff and tried burning them off. It seemed to be working, but unfortunately I ran out of cream and money. Now the horrible things are all fragile and .. I dunno, damaged. But they're still alive. So when one came off/apart in the shower it hurt quite a bit, and bled like something that bleeds an awful lot. I'm pretty sure the bleeding has stopped now (a few hours later, under several layers of band-aids), but I did have to go put on another layer because there was blood showing around the edges of the ones I had put on originally. Stupid bloody things.

Oh, and yesterday at work while packing up I managed to almost destroy our server farm. Instead I had a 40-machine rack fall on me. Well, not "fall on me" fall on me, but it collapsed, and I was in its midst. Hurt my wrist a bit. But we saved it. Stupid bloody thing.